Board Chair Retirement

A cake to celebrate Dr Clive Matthewson's long tenure on the Ashburn Hall Charitable Trust Board.
Dr Clive Matthewson Trustee from 1988-2023

On the 24th of October 2023, Hon Dr Clive Matthewson retired as Board Chair of the Ashburn Hall Charitable Trust. He is the last of the original signatories of the Trust Deed, which was established in 1998, and has provided more than 25 years of service, commitment and support to Ashburn Clinic as a Board member, and the last six years as Board Chair. He contributed much to the governance of Ashburn, was a strong advocate for Ashburn Clinic and its place as an independent psychiatric hospital and therapeutic community in New Zealand. He believed in its benefits for people with mental health and addiction difficulties.

Hon Dr Matthewson’s retirement was celebrated in the tradition of a therapeutic community where the Board, staff, and patients created and participated in the celebration which included karakia, waiata, speeches, gifts, tree planting and afternoon tea in the beautiful Ashburn grounds.  

Dr John Adams was elected the Board Chair at the Trust AGM on the same day, and is joined by Board members  Ray Anton, Adrian Christie, Hon Dr David Clark, Christine Garey, Iris Reuvecamp and Ass Prof Shayne Walker. This group brings an extensive history of achievement and service and ensures strong governance in the years ahead.

Read Ashburn’s Annual Report (2022/23)

Recent Posts & Ashburn Clinic News

Scroll to Top