Our people

Ashburn Clinic employs psychiatrists,  psychotherapists, nurses, occupational therapists, mental health workers, general practitioners, a dietician and support staff, and is recognised nationally for our specialised, professional treatment encouraging people from ‘all walks of life’ on a path of recovery.  


Ashburn Clinic operates as a charitable trust, which is governed by the Board of Trustees: Dr Clive Matthewson (Chair), Dr John Adams, Mr Mike Horne, Mrs Barbara Payton and Ms Iris Reuvecamp.

Hon Clive Matthewson

Chairman, Board of Trustees

BE(Hons); PhD; MNZM

Dr Matthewson has a background in Civil Engineering.  He was Member of Parliament for Dunedin West and a Cabinet Minister, and was also Director of Development at the University of Otago.  He has significant governance experience and appreciates this role with the Ashburn Hall Trust “doing a little bit to help people get well”.

Dr John Adams

Board of Trustees


Dr Adams is a psychiatrist, and currently Associate Dean of Student Affairs at the Dunedin School of Medicine.  In 2013 he completed 10 years as the Dean of the Dunedin School of Medicine; he also served on the Medical Council from 2008–2014, including four years as Chairperson.  He has a long term association with Ashburn Clinic, from working there as a registrar in 1981, then later as a psychiatrist and Medical Director (1988–2001). 

Mike Horne

Board of Trustees


Mike has worked for Deloitte in New Zealand and oversees for almost 25 years.  He presently leads the Dunedin practice and is a Board Member of Deloitte NZ.  He has a broad career in governance serving on boards across a range of industries in the public and private sectors, including quarrying, forestry, manufacturing, education and health.  Mike has had a longstanding involvement in a number of community and not-for-profit sectors.

Barbara Payton

Board of Trustees

BA and BCom

Barbara has over 40 years experience (both paid and voluntary) in the community, public and private sectors in both governance and management roles.  She was a community member of the mental health review team that developed the ‘Raise Hope’ strategy for the SDHB.  Barbara currently manages the Otago Youth Wellness Trust, which has a specific focus on young people with multiple disadvantages and whose mental health and addiction requires an integrated approach.   

Iris Reuvecamp

Board of Trustees


Iris is a barrister and solicitor specialising in health and disability law.  She has advised government departments and crown entities, including DHBs, on a wide range of legal issues, and has worked extensively with providers of health and disability services (and their insurers) in both the public and private sector across NZ.  Iris has a particular interest in and commitment to mental health, mental health capacity and disability law.